Home > Music > Tanzwut – Schattenreiter (2006)

Tanzwut – Schattenreiter (2006)

folderTanzwut forms part of my history as a metal-listener. Back in late 2008, it was harder and faster than most of what I listened to (POLYSICS was an exception to the latter, although not the former), and it played a substantial role in my gradual acclimation to metal aesthetics. Besides providing listening experience, it was one of the first albums I reviewed, although it’s been lost to time since it was on a small forum for a video game that’s long since been deleted. To be fair, my musical preferences have changed a bit since then, but my overall opinion on this album actually hasn’t. In short, I feel that it’s got about 30-40 minutes of good material, and is therefore weakened by the fact it’s a double album.

Tanzwut is a spinoff of Corvus Corax, which is a band devoted to recreating medieval European folk music. This album serves as a mixture of such an approach with industrial rock/metal, and the end result is basically “Rammstein with bagpipes”, for better or worse. I’m not familiar with the rest of the band’s discography, but this album leans pretty heavily away from its medieval roots, which manifest primarily as German bagpipes replacing what might otherwise be guitar and keyboard lines. Meanwhile, there’s a substantial electronic element to the music, but it’s mostly confined to the background and used for aesthetic purposes.

Surprisingly, the aesthetic remains somewhat consistent through this album’s long duration, but Tanzwut manages to pull off a bit of genre bending on this album, although not nearly to the degree of a band like Sigh. Either way, it divides the album up into rough halves – I’d say the first CD leans more on the rock and metal aspects of the band’s sound, and the second has more heavily integrated electronic influences. While I feel the first CD is generally stronger than the second, I’m willing to claim this isn’t a result of genre shifts, but more of a ‘music industry’ related effect. While my opinions about which tracks are better than others are obviously subjective, it’s a common practice to put ‘hit singles’ near the beginning and (less often) the end of a disc, leaving the middles more experimental at best and made up of songs that had less effort put into them at worst. This may have happened here, or it may be that I just prefer rock and metal tropes to techno/industrial ones.

Either way, while I was fairly quick to discover more extreme forms of metal, Tanzwut remains in my playlist to this day; for vaguely medieval flavored Neue Deustche Harte (the “technical” name for Rammstein’s genre) you can’t go wrong with this band. My attempts to find more metal were at the time stymied by not knowing about the Metal Archives, but more by the fact I had yet to truely develop an interest in the genre. On the other hand, without recordings like this, I might not have ever gotten to that point, and my choice of music in this alternate reality would be as alien to me as heavy metal was in high school.

Highlights: “Schattenreiter”, “Endlich”, “Toccata”, “Vulkan”

  1. No comments yet.
  1. 2014/05/24 at 10:02

Leave a Reply

