Home > Music > Mudhoney – Every Good Boy Deserves Fudge (1991)

Mudhoney – Every Good Boy Deserves Fudge (1991)

In the deep past, I wrote upon the subject of alternative rock, and how similar it was to the classic rock that preceded it. In the process, implied that I enjoyed the works of the band Mudhoney. That was intentional.

Since the amount of grunge rock I’ve listened to is very minimal (mainly because I consider Alice in Chains to be a bona fide heavy metal band), I can easily say that this is the best of the genre that I’ve been exposed to. It’s pretty relaxed, smoothed out, slappy music, and I get the feeling that drugs were involved in its creation. Mudhoney, at their core, play somewhat lo-fi punk rock with a heavy blues influence. Nothing here is technical or flashy. There’s a bit of dissonance in the solos, and lead vocalist Mark Arm occasionally shouts on occasion, in addition to singing and yelping his way through the songs.

Why I like it? I’m not sure. Mostly, it’s because it’s A. A collection of fairly simplistic songs (albeit not entirely formulaic) that don’t try to pretend they’re anything more than good times, and B. It doesn’t use its’ accessible song structures and aesthetics to pander to the mainstream. In this respect, Mudhoney fills a relatively neglected niche in my listening rotation – that of non-contemplative relaxation. Like Devin Townsend, I end up listening mainly for the emotions, but I can appreciate the band on a musical level as well. Obviously, this leads to some occasional lyrical dissonance – take the song “Broken Hands”, the lyrics of which are what you’d expect it to be about. Again, listening to death metal for a few years has irrevocably altered my standards for what “dark” music would sound like, but outside the wailing vocals and minor key chord progressions, this isn’t very morose. In fact, its lyrics could probably be swapped out for a variety of topics, and unknowing listeners would be none the wiser. Another song, “Good Enough”, veers in the opposite direction; long story short, there’s more to mood than tonality.

Long story short; this album is more than the sum of its parts. Mudhoney isn’t very well known by the general public, but its members were also involved in the even more pioneering grunge act, Green River. Before Nirvana went all power-pop on Nevermind, Mudhoney/Green River was probably many a person’s introduction to the genre, and even now, they’re probably a frequent stepping stone into the Seattle scene.

I’m out of my league here. Has anyone ever done a fusion of grunge rock and death metal? That would probably incite me to further explore the genre if it was done right. Then again, it might not.

Leave a Reply

